WHAT EXACTLY DO Urologists DO?
EXAMPLES FROM A DIVERSE PANEL OF
Urologists.

What is Urology?

Dr.Tavya Benjamin

tbenjamin5@northwell.edu
 

Why diversity is important in urology

Dr. Willie Underwood

willie.underwood@ama-assn.org

 

Kidney and Bladder Stones

Dr. Zeph Okeke

zokeke@northwell.edu
 

Robotics/Urologic Oncology

Dr. Jessica Kreshover

jkreshover@northwell.edu

 

Urologic Prosthetics

Dr. Miguel Pineda

mpineda3@northwell.edu

 

Female Urology

Dr. Fenwa Milhouse

fenwafj@gmail.com

Urologic Reconstruction

Dr. Billy Cordon

billycordon@gmail.com

 

Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia

Dr. Ricardo Gonzalez

rrgonzalez@houstonmethodist.org

 

Penis Transplant

Dr. Arthur Burnett

aburnet1@jhmi.edu

 

Pediatric Urology

Dr. Jimena Cubillos

jimena_cubillos@urmc.rochester.edu

 

Gender Affirmation

Dr. Shannon Smith

shannonsmithmd@yahoo.com

 

Interventional Urology

Dr. Art Rastinehad

arastine@northwell.edu

Picture8.png

ADDITIONAL STUDENT RESOURCES

Urology Unbound- https://urologyunbound.org/

• Mentorship

• Networking

R. Frank Jones Urological Society- https://blackurologistssociety.org/

• Research Opportunities

Northwell_Health_Logo.png

AUA Summer Medical Student Fellowships $4,000 stipend for ten-week mentored research experience

Clerkships

Medical students rotate on the urology service within either the MS3 or MS4 year. Students from the Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell generally make up our 3rd year rotators. For 4-week subinternships, we accept medical students from medical schools all over the country.

If you are interested in spending a rotation with us, you may apply through the AAMC Visiting Student Learning Opportunities Website and the VSAS Application.

Research Opportunities

Our department has a long standing tradition of working with students at all educational levels to create or become involved with ongoing urology research projects at the Smith Institute. We offer both short term (summer) research experiences as well as year long clinical research fellowships.

We have a dedicated team of experts to help you though generation of IRB proposals, data collection, and analysis.

Please email our program coordinator, Jennifer Tidridge if you are interested.